Brett Young Pays Tribute To Tim McGraw With “Don’t Take The Girl” At ACM Honors

Brett Young Pays Tribute To Tim McGraw With “Don’t Take The Girl” At ACM Honors | Classic Country Music | Legendary Stories and Songs Videos

Maggie Friedman/Variety via Getty Images/Tim McGraw/Instagram

Tim McGraw was recognized at the 2023 ACM Honors that aired Monday night (September 18) as Brett Young took the stage to perform McGraw’s first No. 1 single, “Don’t Take The Girl.”

Tim McGraw, who boasts more than 80 million record in his career, was honored with the Academy of Country Music Icon Award. This award is given each year to the “country music artist, duo/group or industry leader who, throughout their career, has advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions in multiple facets of the industry, such as songwriting, recording, production, touring, film, television, literary works, philanthropic contributions and other goodwill efforts.”

Tim’s wife, Faith, and two of their daughters, Audrey and Maggie, were in attendance to see him accept the award and witness the performances in his honor.

Tim McGraw / Instagram

Brett Young took the stage to perform McGraw’s 1994 hit “Don’t Take The Girl,” an emotional moment for Tim, as was the moment he was presented with the Icon Award.

Tim McGraw fought tears as he was handed the trophy and began to thank everyone who has been a part of his illustrious career. But, when it came time to acknowledge his wife and daughters, he couldn’t hold back his tears.

“My world changed the day I met Faith,” McGraw said. “You’re my partner in life, you’re my partner musically, and help the rest of me. You stood by me with all the ups and downs, life, and a career in music and throw away. You simply tell me how it is when I can’t see the light. I would not be where I am today without you and your grace. I love you unconditionally.”

The tears flowed freely as he sent a message to his daughters, Gracie, Maggie and Audrey.

“It’s not lost on me in the least that growing up in a household where mom and dad are artists, created this whole set of challenges…But I’m so proud of the women you’ve become…Thank you for who you are, and I love you so much.”

Other artists recognized included Chris Stapleton (ACM Triple Crown Award), Charlie Daniels (ACM Spirit Award), Clint Black (ACM Poet’s Award), Mary Chapin Carpenter (ACM Poet’s Award), BRELAND (ACM Lift Every Voice Award), Kane Brown (ACM International Award), and HARDY (ACM Artist/Songwriter Of The Year Award).

BRELAND, Keith Urban, Lee Brice, Brandy Clark, Priscilla Block, Jordan Davis, Billy Ray Cyrus, FIREROSE, Sara Evans, Chris Janson, Lady A, Nelly, Bailey Zimmerman, Dennis Quaid, The War And Treaty, Trisha Yearwood, and Carly Pearce were among the performance lineup who paid tribute to this year’s honorees.

Watch Brett Young sing “Don’t Take The Girl” in the video below.

Share on Facebook Share on Facebook

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates